1.855.INDSPIRE (463.7747)

Hilary Pearson Award

Hilary Pearson has had a twenty-year career in the field of foundation philanthropy in Canada.  As the founding President of Philanthropic Foundations Canada for almost eighteen years, Hilary has worked with many of the largest private charitable foundations in the country.  She has been a strategic advisor and facilitator for many family foundations, in their work to understand the landscape, develop their goals, and structure their governance and grantmaking practices.

Author of numerous articles and reviews on foundation philanthropy, Ms Pearson also speaks frequently at conferences and workshops in Canada and globally.  In her role at PFC, she edited comprehensive guides to starting and managing foundations, as well as guides for funders working with governments, with universities, and in policy advocacy.

Ms Pearson has an extensive knowledge of federal public policy regarding charities, and serves as co-chair of the Advisory Committee on the Charitable Sector, advising the federal government on policy and regulatory issues. From 2012 to 2015, she served on the Governor-General’s Advisory Committee on Volunteerism and Philanthropy. In July 2018, she was appointed to the Order of Canada for her contributions to building the field of philanthropy in Canada. 

Hilary Pearson Award

These bursaries will be distributed annually to female Indigenous students who are attending post-secondary institutions with demonstrated financial need for contribution to education costs.


  • Atkinson Charitable Foundation
  • Bealight Foundation
  • Burns Memorial Fund
  • Carthy Foundation
  • Catherine Donnelly Foundation
  • Claudine and Stephen Bronfman Family Foundation
  • Cole Foundation
  • Colin Glassco
  • Donner Canadian Foundation
  • Echo Foundation
  • Fondation Dufresne et Gauthier
  • Fondation J. Armand Bombardier
  • Good Foundation
  • Graham Boeckh Foundation
  • Hewitt Foundation
  • Inspirit Foundation
  • Johanne Beauvilliers
  • Katharine Bambrick
  • KBF Canada Foundation
  • Laidlaw Foundation
  • Laura Manning
  • Liza Goulet
  • Lupina Foundation
  • Lyle S. Hallman Foundation
  • Margaret and Wallace McCain Family Foundation
  • Max Bell Foundation
  • Morris & Rosalind Goodman Family Foundation
  • Muttart Foundation
  • Nan-b de Gaspé Beaubien
  • Nickle Family Foundation
  • Nicol Family Foundation
  • Ottawa Community Foundation
  • R. Howard Webster Foundation
  • Roasters Foundation
  • Roderick MacLennan
  • Rozsa Foundation
  • The Asper Foundation
  • The Counselling Foundation of Canada
  • The Drummond Foundation
  • The George Cedric Metcalf Foundation
  • The Henry and Berenice Kaufmann Foundation
  • The Hylcan Foundation
  • The Ivey Foundation
  • The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation
  • The Lawson Foundation
  • The Mastercard Foundation
  • The Ralph M. Barford Foundation
  • The Rossy Family Foundation
  • The Sibylla Hesse Foundation
  • The Windsor Foundation
  • Trottier Family Foundation

Awards Criteria

Awards Category: Post-Secondary
Deadlines: August 1, November 1, February 1
Program of Study: Any
Level of Study: Any
Indigenous Affiliation: Any
Other: Preference given to female students